Doubly

July 6th 2020

Today I started to do the admin I need to do to prepare for my flatmate moving out on Friday. Oh, btw, for the people in my life reading this who I have not yet told: my flatmate is moving out on Friday.

Originally I wanted to move out, because I’m at the point in my life now where I want my own space. It’s a thing that we tried for six months because it was convenient for both of us, but, and I know Covid is repsonsible for most of this, it was becoming tricky sharing a flat with someone 24/7.

And so I was starting to look for my own place, which would mean Spence had to move out of here, but then he pointed out that it didn’t make any sense for us both to move, so he’s moving out and I’m staying here. That does kind of make me feel like I’m kicking him out, but honestly it’s best for both of us. We didn’t fall out, or anything, it’s just better off this way.

What that does mean, however, is that my life just got doubly as expensive, because I now have to cover his part of the rent and the bills. So that’ll be a fun change of pace to my lifestyle. Honestly though, whether I spend it on rent, food, or weekends away, I tend to end up with the same amount of money at the end of the month anyway.

I’m thinking that now I’ve got the place to myself (from Friday) that I’ll start to do things like “buy wall art” that I’ve had on my to-do list since I moved in. I need to, like, decorate. That said, I’ve just had to buy him out of the deposit and the furniture that we split, so I’m a grand down already this month and we’re six days in.

Until tomorrow, maybe the wall art can wait until August.

Jacn

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s